Laser Institute of America names Schawlow Award recipient

Dr. Marshall G. Jones is being recognized by the LIA for his innovative design and implementation of industrial laser applications

Marshall G. Jones, Ph.D., a pioneering scientist and researcher in the field of laser materials processing, will receive the 2007 Arthur L. Schawlow Award and be honored by the Laser Insitute of America (LIA) at the 26th International Congress on Applications of Lasers & Electro-Optics (ICALEO) later this month.

The Arthur L. Schawlow Award is presented each year by LIA to honor outstanding career-long contributions to basic and applied research in laser science and engineering that have lead to the increased application of lasers in industry, medicine, and daily life.

Dr. Jones has been recognized by the LIA for his innovative design and implementation of industrial laser applications. He has been a driving force behind various ground-breaking advancements in the field of laser materials processing such as laser-robot integration, fiber delivery, and laser shock peening. His accomplishments have resulted in numerous U.S. and foreign patents along with authoring more than 40 publications.

In addition, Jones has been an elected member of the National Academy of Engineering and has received multiple honors including being named the 2002 Coolidge Fellow, the highest individual honor given at General Electric's Global Research Center. Along with having a demanding schedule, Dr. Jones has also taught courses at a local community college, delivered inspirational speeches throughout the U.S., and authored an uplifting book titled Never Give Up: The Marshall Jones Story.

As an international authority in the field of fiber-optic laser beam technology, Dr. Jones has made significant contributions to LIA by serving on the Board of Directors, strongly supporting ICALEO, and reviewing LIA's Journal of Laser Applications. He is a fellow of both LIA and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

More in Surface Treatment