LIA to name award winners at ICALEO 2019

The winners of the 2019 Arthur L. Schawlow Award and William M. Steen Award will be announced during ICALEO's Awards Gala on October 9, 2019.

Winner 1548239 1920

Professor Lin Li, director of the Laser Processing Research Centre at The University of Manchester (Manchester, England), will receive the 2019 Arthur L. Schawlow Award from The Laser Institute (LIA; Orlando, FL).

The award, which recognizes Li's career-long contributions to basic and applied research in laser science and engineering, will be presented at LIA's 38th International Congress on Applications of Lasers & Electro-Optics (ICALEO) in Orlando on October 9, 2019.

The annual commendation acknowledges Li's leadership as LIA president in 2016, as well as president of the International Academy of Photonics and Laser Engineering from 2013–2015 and president of the Association of Industrial Laser Users (AILU) from 2017–2019. At the same time, LIA recognizes his work in pioneering the fields of diode laser materials processing, industrial laser cleaning, multiple material additive manufacturing, and more.Professor Lin Li, winner of the 2019 Arthur L. Schawlow Award.Professor Lin Li, winner of the 2019 Arthur L. Schawlow Award.

The Arthur L. Schawlow Award joins Li's list of honored titles, including the 2014 Wolfson Research Merit Award from the Royal Society for his research on laser nanofabrication and nanoimaging, as well as the Researcher of the Year medal from The University of Manchester in the same year. His work on innovative manufacturing that led to significant economic impact was also applauded by The Royal Academy of Engineering, as he was bestowed the Sir Frank Whittle Medal in 2013.

LIA's William M. Steen Award will mark its first year at ICALEO by having its namesake gracing the event as well as personally conferring the awards. Steen will join the audience in saluting the winners that have demonstrated significant innovation in the use of lasers for advanced materials processing.

This year's winning nominations are:

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory for the Academic & Public Sector Industry

Lincoln Electric for the Aerospace Industry

K-Labs for the Automotive Industry

Electro-Optics Technology for the Defense Industry

Boston Scientific for the Medical Devices Industry

Samsung for the Microelectronics Industry

Hitachi for the Research & Development Industry

Boss Laser for the Specialized Manufacturing & Services Industry

The Theodore H. Maiman Award will be annually conferred by LIA to the Steen Award recipient organization that demonstrates the highest achievement in advancing laser materials processing technology. Maiman is known for his work in developing the first operational laser and numerous applications thereafter.

The winner of this award will be announced during ICALEO's Awards Gala on October 9th.

ICALEO will feature over 222 technical and business presentations on laser applications research, development, and implementation across the four-day conference.

For more information, please visit

More in Home